Hide: The book you need after Squid Game

£9.9
FREE Shipping

Hide: The book you need after Squid Game

Hide: The book you need after Squid Game

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

A high-stakes hide-and-seek competition turns deadly in this dark supernatural thriller from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White, perfect for fans of Stephen King and SQUID GAME. I don’t know that I would read it again but I’ll definitely see the movie if someone ever does a film adaptation. The amusement park was a hugely successful endeavour until a tragedy involving a missing child saw the place closed under mysterious circumstances. And I’m not going to spoil to much here in terms of big details, but the way that White handles this story, with nods to Greek mythology as well as very real issues regarding the idle rich vs an ever more strained lower class, is a well balanced take on all the things she seeks to take on. Rating 8: A creative and suspenseful story with nods to Greek mythology and social maladies, “Hide” is a fun new horror novel from Kiersten White and a nice crossover to adult horror!

It definitely wasn’t perfect, but I think it is a good one to try as someone who is new to horror books. I loved the build up initially, it was suspenseful and the mystery of the competition and the “seekers” was enough to get me really pumped up and wanting to know more, but once I got the explanation I wasn’t really into it anymore. It’s likely that most of Kiersten White’s readers have known from the beginning just what she’s capable of.m. will be confiscated and thrown out, so they can’t even leave their meager possessions on the cot that is not theirs. The setting is immersive and richly described, and the story moves quickly (the book is only 250 pages). The set menu is highly seasonal and changes frequently, often the first menu to showcase the produce with the most fleeting of seasons, or to trial new creations from the kitchen before they are added to the main menu. Fourteen contestants are dropped off in an abandoned amusement park for a weeklong game of extreme hide-and-seek with a massive cash prize.

Mack and Ava, together with a young man named LeGrand, hope to thwart the diabolical plans of the Asterion families and save themselves. After all, hiding is what saved her life when her father massacred the rest of her family; she figures she can hide for seven days in less dire circumstances.The competitors include a wannabe influencer, a young man banished from his religious sect, a lesbian veteran, an underemployed striver, and a kindly gas station attendant. Hide That Can brings together images taken over four years at Arlington House, Camden, a hostel which primarily accommodates male Irish emigrants. Ever since Shirley Jackson’s short story, “The Lottery,” horror fans have been suspicious of seemingly innocent games. Clearly it was always going to be difficult to make some of these characters feel substantial enough to form a real connection, this is also made more difficult because of the fact that as soon as the competition starts two characters per day would be eliminated so there is a throwaway element to also be considered. There wasn’t anything actually scary on the page for most of the story, but the threat of some unknown seeker gave the story a spooky atmosphere.

Sometimes all you want from a read is something on par with reality TV and Hide encapsulates that vibe. Which was super disappointing considering Kiersten White is an amazing author and I do enjoy some of her other books, this one was just not for me. Their discovery of secrets reveals that they were not brought to Asterion—the home of this twisted game—to get a second chance.She had zero redeeming qualities and her megalomaniac persona portrayed in her journals made it so lovely to hate her and all the immediate family. Once again, I’m unfamiliar with the conventions of the genre, so I can’t speak to what has or hasn’t been done before, but I found this book excelled as a character study.

The labyrinth of a theme park in which the story is set represents a space for characters and readers alike to reflect and question, a space to mourn and hope, to love and hate as a system plagued by inequity and injustice is explored. There is A LOT going on and it's not always plausible, but it was very entertaining as long as you're willing to suspend realistic expectations a little bit. Our primary POV character is Mackenzie “Mack” Black, recruited from the homeless shelter where she’s been staying since she lost her job. Even though everyone is desperate to win—to seize their dream futures or escape their haunting pasts—Mack feels sure that she can beat her competitors. The reader gets to peek into each of our fourteen characters’ heads, the writing style serving as a powerful tool to wiggle even the most unassuming—or even evil—characters into your heart.

Hide has positive and negative aspects to the story and as long as you know you are in for a quick and engaging ride, not spine-chilling horror, you will enjoy this book. But as the people around her begin disappearing one by one, Mack realizes that this competition is even more sinister than she imagined, and that together might be the only way to survive.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop